easy fall decor

something about the upcoming first official day of fall is making me want to redecorate my entire home.  I am craving warm colors and apple scents. I want to trade in my corals and seafoams for chocolate and mustard yellows. the flower wreath on my front door needs to be replaced with burlap, and most importantly: the summer ale in my fridge has-ta-go.

unfortunately, even though I wish my bank account had unlimited funds, it does not.  So I guess I’ll settle for flipping through pottery barn catalogs and online window shopping for my favorite autumn decor.  Here are some items I am coveting:

Mercury Glass Pumpkin:

mercury glass pumpkin

if you are feeling crafty (or cheap!) make one yourself.  I love a good DIY, and this is about as easy as it gets.  Pick up a glass pumpkin (Hobby Lobby, Target, etc) and some Krylon Looking Glass Spray Paint.  Make sure the paint the inside of the pumpkin, so that the mercury glass paint does its magic.

If you’re feeling not-so-crafty (aka lazy), head on over to Pottery Barn and pick up this magical piece.  Its currently on sale, and free shipping!!

White Owl Luminary:

owl luminary

I saw this luminary at Pottery Barn.

Even though I adore it, I am not in love with the price.  So if you feel a splurge coming on, this one is perfect buttt…

white owl

A quick google search led me to this inexpensive Urban Trends statue sold at Walmart of all places (i know, right?!)

Wreath:

wreath

I mentioned above that my floral wreath needs a good seasonal update.  I’m craving a burlap front door piece something bad.  Etsy is my go to for all things decor related, lately.  Check out this awesome one from LilyandTuck.

fall wreath

And once again, if you’re feeling crafty- check out this blog for a DIY tutorial.

Throw:  

chunky throw

its fall, duh. that means colder weather (cue Zac Brown Band) and cuddlier couches.  This West Elm Chunky Tassel Throw is my fave.  Something about this makes me want to curl into a fetal positioned ball with my boyfriend and a sofa and watch a good chick flick.  Not that I could ever convince him to do that.

target throw basketweave throw

here are two less expensive but equally as awesome Target Alternatives.

Table Decor:

morton skull

I am a sucker for a glass skull right now.  I want it in my house all year round, so i’m thinking that fall is the perfect excuse to buy this lovely guy from zgallerie. And for less than $15!!

mercury glass skull

If you’re super in to the mercury glass thing right now, like me, then this Pottery Barn skull is great

cozy sweater scented candle

Autumn is my favorite season for a million reasons (football, holidays, pretty colors) but one of the top reasons is the smell.  It smells of crisp air and comfy sweaters, changing leaves and new leather boots. That’s why I need this candle.

basel-ochre-napkin

I’m loving this burnt orange color for table linens.  The Basel Ochre napkin with the Tassie Placemat  from Crate & Barrel is my favorite combination.  Plus, I’m a sucker for a bold print.

twinkle-string-lights

 put these Crate & Barrel twinkling string lights anywhere and everywhere you possibly can. OK, i’m kidding, don’t over do it.

But seriously, pick some of these up. I’m in love. They’d be perfect intertwined with fall leaves, in a vase with natural branches or even wrapped around your new burlap wreath!

Deer/Antlers:

last, but certainly not least, on my fall decor must have list.  Don’t get me wrong, I am currently HATING deer season right now, as it has stolen my outdoor loving boyfriend away from me; but if he brings me back a couple of antlers I may forgive him.  If the real thing is too much for you, there are a TON of faux options.

faux-deer-antlers-160123269

 This zgallerie antler would look amaze on a coffee table or styled on your bookcase.

white deer

most recently, in a clients house, we added this stag head above her bar cart. I love everything on this site, but especially the deer collection.  Gold, glitter, silver or monochromatic; they’re all so fabulous.

 

Now all you have to do is make yourself (or drive to starbs and pick up) a hot mocha latte, grab your favorite pair of boots and flannel shirt, turn on a football game and enjoy snuggle weather in the comfort of your newly updated space.

-w&a

Leave a Reply

